Chocolate Muffin Tops

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¾ cup (210 g) whole wheat flour
  • ¾ cup (60 g) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup (200 g) sugar
  • ½ tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 ½ tsp baking powder
  • 1 ½ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ cup egg beaters
  • ½ cup unsweetened applesauce
  • ½ cup plain (unsweetened) Greek yogurt
  • 1 ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 scant cup hot water, divided
  • ½ cup (98 g) semi-sweet chocolate chips, divided

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (F).
  • Using a wooden (or large plastic) spoon, mix all of the dry ingredients together (i.e., flour through salt) until evenly combined.
  • Add all of the wet ingredients EXCEPT for the hot water (i.e., egg beaters through vanilla extract).  Mix with a spoon until evenly combined.  (Note that the ‘batter’ will be very crumbly at this point; that’s okay.)
  • Add half of the hot water, and mix with a spoon for 5-10 seconds.  Add the remaining hot water, and mix with a spoon until the all of the ingredients are blended together.  (Should only take another 10-20 seconds or so.  Resist the urge to over mix.)
  • Stir in half of the chocolate chips.
  • Grease the muffin top tin with nonstick spray.
  • Put a heaping tablespoon of batter into each tin.
  • Place 4 chocolate chips directly on top of each muffin top batter.
  • Bake at 350 for 9-10 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  • Let the muffin tops cool in the pan for 1-2 minutes, then move to a cooling rack.
  • If not eating the muffin tops within 1-2 days, freeze them.  If wrapped well, they will stay good in the freezer for 3-6 months.

Makes 24 muffin tops.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates): 95 calories, 1.5 g fat, 19.5 g carbohydrate, 2 g fiber, 11.5 g sugar, 1.5 g protein.

The muffin batter, waiting to be baked and transformed into yummy goodness (I hope).

The muffin batter, waiting to be baked and transformed into yummy goodness (I hope).

The baked muffins.  They look promising.

The baked muffins. They look promising.

As I removed the muffin tops from the tin, I was honestly impressed at how 'professional' they looked!

As I removed the muffin tops from the tin, I was honestly impressed at how ‘professional’ they looked!

The first muffin I consumed.

The first muffin I consumed.

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Also low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Very low
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Surprisingly low
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Nice and low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 4.89421

Miscellaneous suggestions, insights, and/or thoughts:

  • I’m not gonna lie, the batter smelled a little funky.  As I filled each muffin tin, I really wasn’t sure what I was going to get once these guys were cooked…
  • Yet when I pulled the baked muffin tops from the oven, I was impressed – they looked really good!  They looked almost perfect, in fact.  But they still smelled kinda strange…how would they taste?
  • I tentatively bit into the first muffin top, and….was really surprised!  It was a wee bit less moist and a tiny bit more bitter than the commercial version; but the overall differences were pretty negligible.  I was impressed!  And considering that these homemade muffin tops are considerably less expensive than the store-bought kind, I think we definitely have a winner here.  (And I got to use my muffin top tin, too – so extra bonus!)  :)
  • I think I may have to try and recreate some other flavors…

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in cake, chocolate, dessert, muffin, picture step-by-step, postaweek, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

