Non-Existent No Bake Cookies

This week I attempted to make a healthier version of the classic chocolate-oatmeal-peanutbutter no-bake cookie.  However, each version I tried just wasn’t very good.  The first batch was horrifically bitter, and the second batch had a very funky artificial taste (and aftertaste) to it.  Each cookie version scored less than a “1” on my rating scale – so I don’t feel comfortable even sharing notes about the attempted efforts (and failed results).  I think the primary lesson I learned from this week was that if artificial sweeteners are going to be used in a recipe, they need to be heated in some form (baked, boiled, etc.).

So, I have no recipe to post this week.  I tried, but it just wasn’t meant to be.  Alas, some days/weeks are like that.  But I do appreciate everyone who reads this blog, and we’ll see if I can’t do a little better next week.  :)

An intimate close-up of our friend Mr. No Bake. The cookie looked good; unfortunately its taste just didn’t match its appearance.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in chocolate, cookie, dessert, nut butter, oatmeal, postaweek, soymilk, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

