Enlightened Alfredo Sauce

Ingredients:

  • One 12.3-ounce package silken tofu, at room temperature*
  • 2 tablespoons light margarine, melted*
  • 1/2 cup low-fat soy milk, warm*
  • 1 teaspoon roasted minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Optional: freshly ground black pepper

Instructions:

  • Put the tofu in a food processor.  Once in the processor’s bowl, break the tofu apart with your fingers so that it resembles coarse chunks. (Should take just a few seconds.)
  • Add all of the remaining ingredients.
  • Pulse the mixture until it is smooth and creamy.  (This took me about 45 seconds.)
  • Done!  Use the sauce in whatever way(s) you enjoy.

Makes 6 (3-ounce) servings.

Nutritional information per serving: 45 calories, 2.5 g fat, 1 g carbohydrate, 0 g fiber, 0 g sugar, 4 g protein.

My gleaming new food processor; a Christmas gift from my sister. This is the first time I've used it - and it was a great inaugural recipe to christen this appliance. :)

Adding the tofu (this is how far I crumbled it by hand - just a few seconds of effort).

Here are all the ingredients, just before blending...

...and here's how it looks after a mere 45 seconds of pulsing. Mmmm.

A few notes:

  • I used Mori-Nu Lite Firm Silken tofu, and Silk Organic Unsweetened soymilk.  If you use different brands/varieties of tofu and soymilk, the nutritional information can change pretty dramatically.  Just FYI.
  • To melt the butter, I microwaved the 2 tablespoons in a microwave-safe bowl on High for 15 seconds, stirred it with a spoonula, and then microwaved on High for another 10 seconds.
  • To warm the milk, I microwaved it in the same bowl I had just used for the butter, on High for 20 seconds.

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Low.
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Very low.
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Super low.
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Crazy low.
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Amazingly low.
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 5!

Miscellaneous suggestions, insights, and/or thoughts:

  • As I tasted my very first bit of this sauce, the thought that immediately came into my mind was: “I’ll be damned – this mixture tastes like a friggin’ white sauce!  Holy buckets!”
  • However, no one eats a white sauce plain, straight from a bowl… so I cooked some noodles, sautéed some mushrooms and seitan, and wilted some spinach; then mixed all of this with the white sauce, and gave it a taste.  (See the photo below.)  The result?  Fantastic.  Seriously.  I could totally serve this to company, and no one would have any idea that 1) this was made of tofu, and 2) it is incredibly healthy!

  • Whenever I have a recipe that calls for a white sauce, I’m totally making this.  A whole new world of food has just opened up for me.  Delish!
  • I like that this recipe produces a more mild sauce – but if you like a sauce with a lot of “gusto”, you may want to increase the amount of garlic used.
  • I’m already thinking of other uses for this sauce: on top of ready-made refrigerated/frozen raviolis or tortellini; as part of a white mac-and-cheese; as part of a biscuit-sausage combo; in scalloped potatoes; as part of a cauliflower gratin; in numerous veggie-pasta combos (artichoke hearts, spinach, and sundried tomatoes; peas, carrots, and broccoli…). The ideas go on, and on…

Stef

P.S. A few days later I did make another dish with this enlightened alfredo sauce: diced baked potatoes, crumbled soy sausage, and the sauce.  It was my homage to ‘sausage-potato-gravy hash’, and it was very tasty and satisfying – almost indulgent.  I likely would have felt guilty about eating it, had I not known the awesome healthy tofu secret to it all…  :)

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in "sausage", picture step-by-step, postaweek, sauce, soy crumbles, tofu, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Enlightened Alfredo Sauce

  1. Does it really taste that good with tofu as the base? I should try it with a pasta dish for my kids. I make my own white sauce with cornstarch instead of flour and I used more milk and less butter. It takes a few minutes to make and it’s very good too.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I promise the sauce tastes good – tofu is so bland and adoptable that it really does take on whatever taste it is paired with. I have had tofu mousse, and it was fantastic, too! No one ever knows when I cook with tofu unless I explicitly tell them. So if you don’t tell your kids (or your husband), I seriously doubt they will ever know…

      Like

Leave a Reply

