Raw Vegetable “Pasta”

Version #1

Ingredients:

  • 2 ounces zucchini, thinly shaved lengthwise with a vegetable peeler
  • 2 ounces yellow summer squash, thinly shaved lengthwise with a vegetable peeler
  • 4 cherry or grape tomatoes, diced
  • 1 tsp sundried tomato tapenade
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 large pinch dried basil
  • 1 tiny dash dried oregano
  • 1 small pinch of salt
  • 3-4 grinds of fresh black pepper

Instructions:

  • Place all of the ingredients in a large bowl.
  • Gently toss with a spoonula until all of the spices/seasonings/oils are well-combined.
  • Transfer to a plate, and enjoy!

Makes 1 serving.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates): 80 calories, 5 g fat, 6.5 g carbohydrate, 1 g fiber, 3 g sugar, 1.5 g protein.

Version #2

Ingredients:

  • 3 ounces soy crumbles
  • 2 ounces zucchini, thinly shaved lengthwise with a vegetable peeler
  • 2 ounces yellow summer squash, thinly shaved lengthwise with a vegetable peeler
  • 4 cherry or grape tomatoes, diced
  • 1 tsp sundried tomato tapenade
  • 1 tblsp grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 large pinch dried basil
  • 1 tiny dash dried oregano
  • 3-4 grinds of fresh black pepper

Instructions:

  • Microwave the soy crumbles for 30-90 seconds (depending on if they are refrigerated or frozen), or until hot all the way through.
  • Place all of the ingredients in a large bowl.
  • Gently toss with a spoonula until all of the spices/seasonings/oils are well-combined.
  • Transfer to a plate or bowl, and enjoy!

Makes 1 serving.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates): 175 calories, 5 g fat, 15.5 g carbohydrate, 7 g fiber, 3 g sugar, 23 g protein.

The ratings (for both versions):
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Low.
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Low.
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Low.
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Low.
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Low.
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 3.99

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

To make the zucchini and squash strips (the “pasta”) in this dish, I went out and purchased a Y-vegetable peeler (as opposed to using a standard skinny peeler that I was raised with) – I was told that Y-peelers were better for this sort of task.  Now, I’m not gonna lie – it was kind of awkward for me to use the Y-peeler for the first few minutes.  But after some experimentation, I found it easiest to make the vegetable ‘ribbons’ if I held the zucchini/squash length-wise on a cutting board, then dragged the peeler across the vegetable’s surface from left to right.  That method worked pretty well for me.

As I tasted Version #1 of the dish, I realized that if I closed my eyes, I could probably be convinced that I was eating a very al-dente pasta – it was pretty cool!  (And a little trippy.)  The ‘trick’ in making the vegetables act like pasta is that they must be sliced very thin (achieved through the help of the Y-peeler) – and they need to be blended with a robust seasoning agent (like the tomato tapenade).

Halfway through the meal, I wondered: if I added some soy crumbles and grated Parmesan cheese, would the dish taste like spaghetti?  Could I “trick” myself into believing I was eating a pasta dish when I was, in fact, eating vegetables?  There’s only one way to find out…

So the next day I whipped up Version #2 of the dish – and the results were just okay.  Some of the “pasta” quality of the veggies was lost with the addition of the soy crumbles – but it was still a pretty tasty meal.  I certainly wouldn’t mistake Version 2 for pasta bolognaise or a spaghetti with meat sauce, but I did enjoy the dish in its own right.  I wouldn’t make either version for company, but I would happily eat them again for myself.  I would even make a batch for my husband if he wanted it.  :)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in "hamburger", basil, casserole, cheese, italian, postaweek2011, soy crumbles, summer squash, tomatoes, vegetables, vegetarian, zucchini and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

