Breakfast Parfait

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup 1% cottage cheese*
  • 1/2 cup low-sugar, low-fat vanilla yogurt*
  • 1/2 to 1 cup diced fruit*
  • 1/4 to 3/4 cup cereal*
  • 1 Tblsp chopped nuts*

* = see notes below

Instructions:

  • In a large cereal bowl, layer each of the ingredients in the order listed above.
  • Get a spoon, and begin eating.  :)  (Super easy!)

Makes 1 serving.

Nutritional information per serving: Will vary quite dramatically depending on the types of yogurt, fruit(s), and cereal(s) you choose.  When I make this meal, it generally works out close to this: 365 calories, 8.5 g fat, 60 g carbohydrate, 12 g fiber, 30 g sugar, 24 g protein.  [Crimony, no wonder I’m full after eating this!]

Here's the dish with the cottage cheese, yogurt, and fruit...

...and then come the cereal and chopped nuts.

I swirl everyting together before I start eating it; I like flavor integration. :)

My notes:

  • You can use nonfat, 2% or full-fat cottage cheese in place of the 1% fat if you’d like – just know that each change will impact the nutritional info provided.
  • You can use any flavor/style of yogurt you like.  I’m a fan of vanilla as I think it allows the fruit flavors to come through the best.
  • For fruit, I usually use 1/4 cup bananas, 1/4 cup berries, and 1/4 cup apple or pear.  But if certain items are not available, I use a variety of other fruits: peaches, melon, grapes, kiwi… pretty much any fruit you like will work.
  • For cereal, I usually do a combination of 1/4 cup Fiber One, 1/4 cup Kashi (whatever variety I have on hand at the moment), and 1/8 cup Grape Nuts.  But in the past I’ve also used shredded wheat, Cheerios, Wheatabix…. Again, whatever you like and have on hand will work.
  • For nuts, I usually use chopped pecans.  But chopped walnuts, sliced/slivered almonds, or any other nuts will work, too.  And if you don’t like nuts (or are allergic to them), you can always omit them (and then save yourself some calories and fat grams, too).

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): As low as they go.
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Wonderfully low.
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Crazy, crazy low.
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Quite low.
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Nice-and-low.
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 4.8

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

Breakfast might be my favorite meal of the day.  I have a few “standard” breakfast menus that I rotate through, and this breakfast parfait is definitely in the line up.  I appreciate the incredible flexibility of this ‘recipe’ (though it’s more like an outline than a script), I like that it requires zero preparation, and I value how quickly it comes together (especially on days when I’ve slept a bit longer and arrive to the breakfast table extra-hungry!).  It’s also very easy re. clean up (only one knife, bowl, and spoon to wash – fantastic), and it satisfies me both in the moment and for hours afterwards.  Yup, this dish is a winner – and definitely a keeper.  :)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in banana, blueberries, breakfast, casserole, cereal, cheese, nuts, picture step-by-step, postaweek2011, vegetarian, yogurt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breakfast Parfait

  1. Looks delicious and easy! YUM!

    Like

  2. carlaat says:

    Yum! Looks delicious! I’ve often had cottage cheese and fruit for breakfast, or yogurt, fruit and cereal for breakfast, but not everything together. Good idea! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

