Oktoberfest Meal Pack

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 small pinch of salt
  • 2-3 grinds fresh black pepper
  • 2 oz. Italian seitan
  • 1/4 cup canned white beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 oz carrots, diced
  • 2 oz yellow squash, diced
  • 1 oz frozen chopped kale (or other greens), thawed

Instructions:

  • Preheat a toaster oven (or standard oven) to 400 degrees (F).
  • Put the first five ingredients (mustard through pepper) in a medium-sized bowl.  Whisk them together until well-combined.
  • Add the remaining five ingredients (seitan through kale) to the bowl.  Gently toss with a spoonula to coat.
  • Spray a medium-size piece of aluminum foil with nonstick spray.  Place the mixture from the bowl in the middle of the lower half of the foil.  Fold the top half of the foil over the mixture, and crimp/seal the three open sides of the foil to make a cooking packet.
  • Place the packet on a tray, and put the packet/tray combo in the oven for 10-15 minutes (until the carrots are to the desired softness, and the rest of the food is hot all the way through).
  • Open the foil pouch carefully (it will be hot, and will release some steam).  Let the food cool for a minute or two, then either dump the contents of the packet on a plate or in a bowl.  Or, if you’re feeling ‘rustic’ (or lazy), eat the meal right out of the foil pack.  That’s kinda fun, too.  :)

Makes 1 serving.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates): 235 calories, 6 g fat, 22.5 g carbohydrate, 5.5 g fiber, 2 g sugar, 18.5 g protein.

Aluminum foil is difficult to photograph; here is my best attempt.

Anyone remember Jiffy Pop? I think I'm making the German version...

The goods, hot from the oven…

...and now on my plate.

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Lieber low. (If you can’t find Italian seitan, you can try using regular ground seitan + 1 tsp of dried Italian seasoning…)
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Ganz low.
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Sehr low.
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Ziemlich low.
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Wunderbar low!
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 4.001

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

I never really understood the whole “Oktober-fest” thing – but then again, I don’t drink beer.  Still, it seems like people around me want to celebrate this month in ways that don’t require hiding one’s identity and begging from neighbors…and since engaging in festivities is rarely a bad idea, I figured I could show some support for Oktober in my own way.  Hence, this meal.  :)

I was surprised at how good the dish smelled – both as I was mixing it in the bowl, and as it was baking.  When I opened the foil packet, the aroma was zesty and lovely – I was kind of excited to dig in!  What I tasted, though, was mostly an Italian sausage flavor.  That component kind of dominated the other (more docile) ingredients.  Interestingly, I don’t think this is a flaw or failing of the recipe, but more just a function of how German food works.

If I were to make this again, I might try a few different things.  I might double either the mustard or the lemon juice, and see what effect those tweaks has on the flavor profile of the meal.  I might also try swapping out the Dijon mustard with a honey mustard (or maybe a brown mustard), and see how that shakes things up (if at all).

While the meal didn’t knock my socks off, given the incredible ease and speed it takes to make this dish (as well as the ridiculously pleasant non-clean-up afterwards), I’ll probably be having this again.  All things considered, I think this recipe has earned a solid 4.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in "sausage", beans, carrots, casserole, greens, kale, picture step-by-step, postaweek2011, seitan, summer squash, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

