Egg Waffle “Sandwich”

Ingredients:

  • 1 frozen waffle of your choice (I used Kashi 7 Grain)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp light butter
  • 1/8 cup syrup of your choice (I use a sugar-free version; if you use a full-sugar version, your nutritional information will be different than what I have posted below. It’s not a problem, just a point to be aware of.)

Instructions:

  • Heat a nonstick skillet on medium-high heat for 1-2 minutes.
  • While the skillet is warming, prepare the frozen waffle as you normally would.  (I toast mine in a toaster oven for 2 minute on each side.)
  • While the waffle is toasting (and once the skillet is hot), cook the egg “over-hard”.  (I.e., break the yolk and cook one side completely [it takes me about 2-3 minutes], then flip the egg and cook the other side completely [another 2-3 minutes].)
  • When the waffle is cooked, spread the butter evenly over the entire waffle, then pour the syrup evenly over the buttered waffle.
  • When the egg is cooked through (including the yolk), place that on top of the dressed waffle.  Eat immediately.

Makes 1 serving.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates): 190 calories, 9.5 g fat, 12.5 g carbohydrate, 3.5 g fiber, 9.5 g sugar, 8 g protein.

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Super low.
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Very low.
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Pretty low.
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Definitely low.
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Nice and low.
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 3. Meh.

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

Riffing on last week’s recipe, this week I wondered if I could make another egg-based, open-faced “sandwich” – but this time, for breakfast instead of for dinner.  (Put eggs in their more ‘traditional’ time of day, you know?)  I decided to do some experimentation with the ingredients I already had on hand (I had purchased the waffles and syrup for a guest we had stay with us a month ago, and wanted to try and use up some of the leftovers) – and out came this recipe.

So, how was it?  Honestly, a little bland.  The egg kind of got lost in the waffle taste – but the waffle wasn’t a strong flavor presence, either.  It was quite a strange experience, actually.  It’s like both the egg and the waffle needed a better partner to really ‘shine’ – but since no better partner could be found, they both basically just gave up: they pulled on sweat pants, flopped down on the sofa, and started flipping television channels mindlessly, watching crappy daytime programming.  The meal was just ‘blah’.

I think if a better base were used (say, a pancake or a corn cake in place of the waffle), the dish might have a better chance.  It might actually be quite good.  So one day, when I’m bored and have some eggs on hand that I need to get rid of, I might give this recipe another shot.  But I wouldn’t make this version again.  I don’t like daytime TV.  :)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in breakfast, eggs, postaweek2011, vegetarian, waffle. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Egg Waffle “Sandwich”

  1. This is my kind of breakfast. I love the combination of sweet and savory.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Sweet and savory can be really tasty; I think this combo just needs a bit more ‘oomph’. :) Thank you for reading, and for commenting – I really appreciate it!

      Like

  2. carlaat says:

    I’m also a fan of an egg and a waffle. Yum!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Figurative (and literal) sweetness | Smile, kiddo.

Leave a Reply

