Italian Egg Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 1 slice hearty rustic bread (I used a multi-grain)
  • A wee bit of nonstick spray
  • 1 egg
  • 1 clove garlic, raw
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup (2 oz) tomato sauce, warm (I used the sauce recipe from last week)
  • Optional: salt & pepper

Instructions:

  • Toast the bread until it is medium-dark and very crisp.
  • While the bread is toasting, cook the egg sunny-side up.  (I.e.: Spray a skillet with the nonstick spray.  Heat the skillet on a medium-low heat for 1-2 minutes.  Gently crack the egg, and place it lovingly in the skillet, doing your best to keep the yolk in tact.  Let the egg sit in the pan, untouched, until the whites are cooked through and the yolk membrane is slightly solid. [You know the egg is done when all parts of the whites transition from the glossy/clearish color they started out as to an opaque, white color.  All of the egg whites will be firm; the yolk will be thicker than it was when it started {but it will not be super-firm}.])
  • Once the bread is finished toasting, rub it with the garlic clove.  (Go very easy on this step – a little raw garlic goes a LONG way.  I advise a mere 3-4 swipes with the clove; 5-6 if you LOVE garlic.)
  • Drizzle the olive oil over the toasted garlic bread slice.
  • Spoon the tomato sauce over the toasted-garlicy-oiled bread.
  • Gently place your cooked egg on top of the tomato sauce.  Once the egg is in place, break the yolk with your fork, and dig in!
  • Once you’ve had a taste of the dish, season with salt and/or pepper as you like.

Makes 1 serving.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates – will depend a lot on the type of bread you use): 170 calories, 7.5 g fat, 17 g carbohydrate, 1.5 g fiber, 3.5 g sugar, 8.5 g protein.

The yolk of my "sunny side up" egg came out a little more fried than runny - but it still worked.

I made the dish again, but this time with a genuine sunny-side-up egg; it does taste better this way.

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Incredibly low.
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Wicked low.
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Medium.  (Toast is easy to make; eggs can be tricky.)
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Crazy low.
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Awesomely low.
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): Inching towards a 5…

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

The city I live in has been experiencing a serious Indian summer; and while I have delighted in the blue skies, colorful leaves, and ridiculously warm weather (low 80s! [F]), the high pollen counts have wreaked serious havoc on my allergies.  This weekend my eyes, ears, and throat were all scratchy; and my nose was an evil combination of super-sneezy and congested.  Ugh.  Needless to say, I wasn’t in really in the mood to cook something terribly complex or elaborate.

But I did want to make something new, and to keep breathing life into this blog… so I decided on this recipe.  It’s easy enough to toast bread and heat up some sauce; and while I’m not an egg super-star, I do a decent job cooking up the little orbs on most days.

I love both the simplicity and the speed of this meal.  It took me literally 10 minutes from start to finish (and I mean START [i.e., removing items from the refrigerator] to FINISH [i.e., sitting at the kitchen table with the hot food in front of me]) – now that is impressive!  But not only is the meal fast, it’s also really, really tasty, too.  It’s very flavorful, yet still harmonious: every ingredient knows its place, and adds just the right qualities to make the whole so much better than the individual parts.

I also love that this recipe requires no special ingredients, and is wholesome yet still rewardingly satisfying.  Fast, easy, cheap, tasty….This recipe is definitely a keeper.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in bread, eggs, italian, postaweek2011, tomatoes, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Italian Egg Sandwich

  1. carlaat says:

    Yum. I love eggs. Eggs for supper especially are comfort food to me.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I used to be just so-so on eggs (and completely NOT cool with yolky eggs [i.e., soft boiled, sunny side up, etc.]. But over the past 1-2 years, they have started to kind of grow on me…. funny.

      Like

Leave a Reply

