Chickpea Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 16-oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 cup fat free Greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons light mayonnaise
  • 1/2 tablespoon mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon Old Bay Seafood seasoning
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1 rib (stalk) of celery, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried ground thyme
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley leaves
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • Optional: Salt & pepper to taste

Instructions:

  • Put the chickpeas in a large bowl, then mash them well.  (I used a potato masher, but a fork would likely work, too – though it would probably take slightly longer.)
  • Once the chickpeas are sufficiently mashed (they shouldn’t be the consistency of a puree, but just broken into small-ish bits), add all of the remaining ingredients to the bowl.
  • Stir everything together until well-blended, then taste.  If you like what you have, refrigerate the mixture until chilled.  If you want to adjust seasonings, tinker until you get something you like, then refrigerate until chilled.
  • The mixture can be served as a salad (so, on top of some nice bread, or amid a bed of greens, or stuffed into a hollowed-out tomato), or it can be used as a dip (go ahead and dunk crackers or veggie sticks into it).

Makes 4-5 servings.

Nutritional information per serving for 4 servings [1/2 cup each] (approximates):
130 calories, 3.5 g fat, 20 g carbohydrate, 4.5 g fiber, 1.5 g sugar, 8 g protein.

Nutritional information per serving for 5 servings [1/3 cup each] (approximates):
105 calories, 3 g fat, 15.5 g carbohydrate, 3.5 g fiber, 1 g sugar, 6.5 g protein.

Just a bowl of chickpeas. Not terribly interesting. But just you wait…

I didn’t know I even *owned* a potato masher, until I rummaged around in the kitchen utensil drawer and found this. Wild…

The masher made quick work of the chickpeas. Easy.

Here are all of the ingredients dumped into the bowl…

…and here’s the mixture after just a few seconds of stirring. Simple.

To serve, I dressed the chickpea salad up all “fancy” like, and put it on a bed of greens that I had tossed in a simple balsamic vinaigrette.  I then surrounded the mound by tomato slices, just to make it extra-special.

The end result: A light, healthy, and delicious meal. Yum!

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Very low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Recession-proof low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Child-appropriate low
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Faster-than-a-crappy-microwave-meal low
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Amelia Bedelia low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 5!

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

When I first saw this recipe, I thought the ingredient list was a little on the “long” side.  But then I read through the items and saw that the majority of them were seasonings, and very common ones at that (I already had all of them in my spice drawer).  So I decided to give the recipe a go.

I was slightly surprised at exactly how easy and fast this dish was to make!  This is a nice “dump-and-mix” recipe (as in, just dump everything into one bowl and mix it all together), so it scores incredibly high marks on the majority of my personal and subjective measures.

Still, a dominant success factor of any recipe is taste (naturally).  How did this one fare?

It’s interesting – as I mixed all of the ingredients together, the dish started to look (and smell!) like a smooth chicken salad.  Hmm…

As I took the first bite, I literally did a double-take; not only does the mixture visually and olfactorily resemble chicken salad, but it honest-to-goodness tastes like a mild chicken salad!  Seriously!

And I suspect if I added a dash of kelp powder to the mixture, it would strongly resemble a mild tuna salad.  Absolutely crazy.

(In fact, my mom has a semi-kooky tuna salad recipe that I might try to make using a chickpea/kelp combo in lieu of fish…. I’d be curious to see how that would shape up.  Hmm…. Stay tuned….)  :)

But, back to this week’s meal.  Though the official name of this dish is “Chickpea Salad”, I am unofficially calling it “Magical Salad”.  Because in the process of stirring, somehow the chickpeas magically turned into chick*n.

Super cool.  :)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in chickpeas, picture step-by-step, postaweek2011, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chickpea Salad

  1. Pingback: Mock Tuna Salad | Savory Sundays

Leave a Reply

