Huevos Rancheros

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup black beans, drained and rinsed
  • Dash of cumin
  • Splash of lime juice (fresh is ideal)
  • 2 T salsa
  • 1 oz avocado (about 1/4 of a small avocado, or 1/8 of a large one)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/8 cup Monterey Jack cheese, shredded

Instructions:

  • In a small bowl, mix the black beans with the cumin and lime juice.  Stir to combine thoroughly, then put the dressed beans on the serving plate.
  • Arrange the salsa and avocado on the plate as well.
  • Spray a small skillet with nonstick (or lightly coat the pan with a wee bit of olive oil), then warm the skillet on medium heat for 2 minutes.  Once hot, gently crack the egg in the middle of the skillet, and let it cook until the whites are set (2-3 minutes or so).
  • Gently transfer the egg to the serving plate, and top the whole deal with the shredded cheese.  Serve and eat immediately.

Makes 1 serving.

Nutritional information per main-dish serving (approximates): 215 calories, 11.5 g fat, 17.5 g carbohydrate, 5 g fiber, 1.5 g sugar, 13.5 g protein.

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Very Low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Incredibly Low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Mostly Low
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Wildly Low
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Amazingly Low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 5!  (The first 5 I’ve ever given!)

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

Confession: Before this recipe, I had never eaten Huevos Rancheros.  The only place I ever see them offered is at Mexican restaurants; and when I’m out at dinner, I rarely want eggs.  At least, not eggs with salsa, and beans, and avocado…. The whole combination always looked strange to me.  (And, if I’m being fully honest, rather unappealing as well.)

But I’ve always been a little curious about this dish.  Many people I know rave about Huevos Rancheros, about how they’re so good!  So despite my instinctual resistance to this meal, I decided I wanted to try it.  At least, in my own home.  Where I didn’t have to pay restaurant prices for something I might not like.  And where I could throw it away and get a sandwich if the first bite was miserable.

The recipe cooked up super-quick, and it honestly couldn’t be much simpler to make.  I got the whole thing done in 10 minutes flat – and that was with me stopping to take a few pictures.

So, I sat down at the kitchen table and saw the American egg looking at me with his Mexican buddies…and I was really uncertain if I wanted to take a bite. I decided to put a small bit of everything on my fork, to ensure I would get the full flavor experience in my very first mouthful.  Here goes nothing….

I slowly lifted the fork to my lips.  Cautiously put the food in.  Tentatively chewed.  Eventually tasted.  And…

Wow!  This meal is really good!  The flavors combined beautifully, and the whole synergy of egg with beans/salsa/cumin/lime/cheese/avocado was amazing!   It was simultaneously yolky and zippy and salty and earthy and light and bright and… it’s actually quite difficult for me to articulate what it all tasted like, except to say that it was really, really good!

This meal felt like perfect brunch fare.  I could easily see this as a go-to meal for an early-afternoon Sunday gathering – or a late-night Saturday meal after an evening on the town.  :)

Either way, I’m a fan of Huevos Rancheros.  Here’s to success in trying new things!

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in avocado, beans, cheese, eggs, mexican, postaweek2011, salsa, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

