Potato Salad Balls

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz Yukon Gold potatoes, cut into ½” dice
  • 1/3 cup mixed frozen vegetables, cooked and drained
  • ¼ cup Greek fat-free yogurt
  • 2 Tablespoons light mayonnaise
  • ½ Tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon mustard
  • 1 Tablespoon pickle relish (sweet or savory, your choice)
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon paprika

Instructions:

  • Fill a large pot halfway with water.  Bring the water to a boil, then add the diced potatoes.  Cook until the potatoes are tender but not falling apart (about 10-12 minutes).
  • Drain the potatoes, then put in a large mixing bowl.  Gently mash the potatoes with a fork, just until the potatoes are broken down, but still lumpy.  (In other words, the potatoes should not be smooth, but should be coarse and still have lots of lumps and bumps.)
  • Then add the remaining ingredients to the bowl, and stir until well-combined.
  • Once the mixture has cooled enough to handle, you can roll it into small balls if you’d like.  Once all of the balls have been formed, store them in the refrigerator.
  • If you’d prefer to eat the potato salad as-is (i.e., not in any special shapes), then simply move the stirred mixture to the refrigerator, and store there until you are ready to eat it.

Makes 4-6 servings.

Nutritional information per serving for 4 servings (approximates): 90 calories, 2 g fat, 15 g carbohydrate, 1 g fiber, 1.5 g sugar, 3 g protein.

Nutritional information per serving for 6 servings (approximates): 60 calories, 1 g fat, 10 g carbohydrate, 1 g fiber, 1 g sugar, 2 g protein.

Here's all of the ingredients, ready to get made into salad...

... and here's the salad, Round 1.

The salad, made into 2-bite balls.

And the salad, Round 2. (See the review below for the story.)

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Low
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Lowish
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Eh, medium-lowish
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 2.895

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

I take my lunch to work every day.  For the most part, this is fine. Agreeable, even.  Because I eat healthfully, and because I’m also a vegetarian, finding food at restaurants that don’t make me feel poorly after eating them (both physically and mentally) can be a bit of a challenge.  So usually it’s just easier (and more healthy, and more economical) to bring a lunch from home, and be done with it.  Fine.

However.  Every so often, I get bored with my lunches.  I have a pretty decent rotation of portable meal ideas that I can work through, so ennui doesn’t strike too frequently; but still, from time to time I want something…. new. Different. Interesting.

So when I saw a recipe for “potato salad balls” (published in a bento-box recipe book), I was intrigued.  I only eat potato salad a few times a year (usually as part of a cook-out in the summer), but to turn what is usually a somewhat sloppy side dish into a portable, eat-with-your-fingers affair – now that, that is intriguing!

And, it is summertime, after all… So, potato salad balls, here I come!

The recipe was easy enough to make.  Boil some potatoes, dump the remaining ingredients into a bowl, stir… no problem.  Turning the salad into “balls” was do-able with the help of two metal tablespoons. (When I tried to form the salad into balls with just my hands, I ended up with a sticky mess, and had more ‘dough’ on my fingers than I did clumped together into a stand-alone round mass.)  But using metal spoons allowed me to get the salad into a very loose ball form.  Initially, the sticky-and-loose balls didn’t appear terribly promising; but after they firmed up in the fridge for a few hours, they did maintain their shape.  They were a bit fragile (i.e., I don’t think they would survive my jostling drive-and-walk to work), but for kids eating a lunch at home, I think they could add some fun into a meal.

So, the shape can be maintained (with some gentle care) – but how do they taste?  The flavor of the original recipe was pretty “blah”.  The dish as originally published in the bento book stopped at the fifth ingredient; and that was a pretty miserable salad.  All I could taste was lemon and mixed veg – yuck.  So I took it upon myself to add the mustard, pickle relish, salt, and paprika.  I think these ingredients definitely improved the dish; but it’s still somewhat “blah” even after those tweaks.

So if you’re looking for a good potato salad recipe, you can certainly do better than this one.  But if you’re looking for a fun lunchtime food experience, you may want to give this one a whirl.  If nothing else, you can say you once ate potato salad with your fingers.  :)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in picture step-by-step, postaweek2011, potato, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

