High Protein Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c Fiber One cereal
  • 1/4 c hot water
  • 1/2 c cottage cheese (I use 1% fat)
  • 1/2 T nut butter
  • 1 medium banana, cut into bite-size pieces (the riper the banana, the better)
  • 1/8 c old-fashioned oatmeal, uncooked
  • Optional: Sprinkle of sugar/sweetener (honey, agave, brown sugar, Splenda, whatever), dash of cinnamon, splash of milk/cream, raisins, and/or whatever else you might like to add to your oatmeal.

Instructions:

  • In a microwave-safe bowl, combine the Fiber One cereal and hot water. Microwave 20 seconds on High.
  • Add the cottage cheese, nut butter, and banana. Stir to mix, then microwave on High for 30 seconds.
  • Carefully remove the bowl from the microwave (it might start to get hot by this point), add the oatmeal, stir, and microwave for another 30 seconds.
  • Take the bowl out of the microwave one last time. (Again, be careful.) Add any of the optional ingredients you like, stir, and microwave for a final 30 seconds (or until the oatmeal is to your preferred eating temperature).
  • Serve immediately. (Just don’t burn your mouth, please.)  :)

Makes 1 serving.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates – does not include any of the ‘optional’ ingredients): 305 calories, 6 g fat, 52 g carbohydrate, 12 g fiber, 18 g sugar, 19 g protein.

Here are the ingredients, ready to be mixed and cooked...

...and here's the final meal, about to be eaten. :)

My notes:

  • If you do not like cottage cheese, you can replace part (or all) of the cottage cheese with ricotta cheese. Please note that doing so may change some of the nutritional information.
  • This recipe makes a very thick oatmeal; if you would like the oatmeal to be thinner, add more water/milk/cream until the dish reaches your preferred consistency.

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Very Low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Also Very Low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Incredibly Low
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Unbelievably Low
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Wonderfully Low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 4.96

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

I have been feeling a bit queasy this weekend, so I didn’t feel up to experimenting with a new recipe. Instead, for this week’s post I’ll offer a gentle breakfast meal I make on the days when I’m not sure how my stomach might react to more ‘aggressive’ food. :) Fortunately, those types of days don’t occur often – and for that, I am truly grateful!

I like this meal not only because it’s mild in taste (so it’s palatable to me when nothing else ‘sounds good’) and is gentle on my stomach (so I don’t worry about, well, the unfortunate things that can happen when one has an upset tummy), but also because it’s very easy to make, and requires basically no clean-up afterwards (just washing the bowl and spoon, which would have to be done for most any breakfast meal, anyway).

If you decide to give this meal a try (hopefully you’re not feeling under the weather; perhaps you just want a new, quick-and-easy meal to add to your breakfast routine; or you’re simply curious about what this dish tastes like), I’d love to hear what you think about it! In the meantime, here’s to BRATs (bananas, rice, applesauce, and toast). :)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in banana, breakfast, cheese, nut butter, oatmeal, postaweek2011, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to High Protein Oatmeal

  1. GroundCherry says:

    I like cream of buckwheat for soothing breakfasts, too. It’s sort of like a whole grain, nuttier version of cream of rice. I usually use berries and/or apples, though, as I’m not a banana fan.

    Applesauce was always my go-to oatmeal topper, though!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      GroundCherry, thank you for reading, and for commenting! I really appreciate it.

      I do like chopped apples in my oatmeal, too – I’ll do that sometimes as well. But on days when I’m feeling not-so-great, bananas are easier for me to digest than apples (with their skin and all…). But applesauce is a good idea, too. :)

      Is cream of buckwheat an ‘instant’ kind of grain, or does it require a longer cook time?

      Like

  2. carlaat says:

    Hope you’re feeling better now – sounds like a great recipe! And I love that it’s just a bowl and spoon to clean, as you said. Yum!

    Like

Leave a Reply

