Mediterranean Veggie Sauté

Ingredients:

  • 1 oz sundried tomato pieces
  • 2/3 c water
  • ½ T EVOO
  • 8 oz mushrooms, roughly chopped
  • 1 (7 oz) can artichoke hearts packed in water, drained and roughly chopped
  • ½ tsp crushed garlic
  • 1 tsp dried basil leaves
  • ½ tsp ground oregano
  • 1 T nutritional yeast
  • 1 (6 oz) bag baby spinach
  • Salt & pepper

Instructions:

  • Place the sundried tomato pieces in a small bowl. Cover with water, and set aside for 5-10 minutes to rehydrate. After the pieces are plump, drain.
  • Heat a very large skillet 1-2 minutes over medium-high heat. Once hot, add the EVOO, and warm the oil 30 seconds. Then add the mushrooms, and cook 2 minutes (or until the mushrooms have softened and have given off some liquid).
  • Add the garlic through nutritional yeast, and stir well to combine.
  • Add half of the baby spinach, and cook until the spinach begins to wilt and reduce in size (about 1 minute). Then add the remaining spinach, and cook another minute, until all of the spinach has wilted.
  • Season individual servings with freshly ground salt & pepper as desired. Serve hot.

Makes 4 servings.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates): 85 calories, 2 g fat, 11.5 g carbohydrate, 3.5 g fiber, 3 g sugar, 6 g protein.

(one serving)

My notes:

  • If you want to make this a complete meal, you can add 1 (15 oz) can of white beans, and 1 (8 oz) box of seitan. If you do that, the nutritional information will be as follows: 210 calories, 3 g fat, 24.5 g carbohydrate, 8 g fiber, 4.5 g sugar, 23 g protein.

(one serving with beans & soy sausage added)

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Medium-Low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Low
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Very Low
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Very Low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 3

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

I was really excited to make this meal, mostly because it called for nutritional yeast. I have had a packet of nutritional yeast in my spice drawer for a few months now, but never had a recipe that listed it as an item to include. When this one did, I was sold. Lots of great veggies, a super-easy-cooking method, minimal time investment in prep and execution, the use of a fun new ingredient… what’s not to love?

Sadly, taste. That’s what’s not to love. : (

As soon I removed the food from the skillet, I suspected I wouldn’t really like it. Unfortunately, I was right. As I took my first bite, all I could smell was oregano. After I swallowed my first bite, that’s mostly what I still tasted – oregano.

The food was edible (unlike some other food experiments), and I’ll finish the other 3 servings that are waiting for me in the fridge (just because I deplore wasting food), but I’ll be relieved when they are gone, and I can move on to something else.

If the oregano were removed from the recipe altogether, I think this one might have some hope. But I’m in no rush to try that modification. If you do decide to give it a whirl, though, please let me know how it turns out. : ) Thanks!

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in artichoke, casserole, mediterranean, mushrooms, nutritional yeast, postaweek2011, spinach, tomatoes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mediterranean Veggie Sauté

  1. It looks pretty good though. :)

    Like

  2. I applaud your honesty Stef.
    So very refreshing. :)

    Like

  3. carlaat says:

    I love nutritional yeast! On popcorn, rice or pasta! Yum! Looks good. I too am not a fan of too much oregano. But I might have been ok with 1/2 tsp. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Carla, I have never had nutritional yeast on anything before this – so you’ve given me some ideas of new ways to explore this ingredient. Thanks for that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

