Dinner Loaf

Ingredients:

  • 2 oz soy crumbles, thawed
  • ¼ c egg beaters
  • 1/8 c (.5 oz) whole wheat bread crumbs
  • ¼ c (2 oz) tomato sauce
  • 1 oz canned spinach, squeezed as dry as possible
  • 1 oz shredded carrots (raw)
  • 1/8 c (.5 oz) grated Parmesan cheese
  • ½ tsp yellow mustard
  • 1/8 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • Generous dash of dried parsley leaves
  • Dash of garlic powder
  • Dash of onion powder
  • Dash of freshly ground black pepper

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Put all of the ingredients in a medium-size bowl. Mix well to combine evenly and thoroughly.
  • Spray a glass 9×5” loaf pan very liberally with nonstick cooking spray. (Be sure to spray the corners of the loaf pan extra-well.)
  • Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan. Spread out the batter so that it is distributed evenly in the pan.
  • Bake the loaf in the center of the oven for 25 minutes.
  • Remove the pan from the oven, and let the loaf rest in the pan for 5 minutes.
  • After 5 minutes, run a knife around the edges of the pan, then gently invert the loaf onto a cooling rack.
  • You can eat the loaf immediately; or you can let the loaf cool at least 1 hour, then store it. (See note.)

Makes 1 serving.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates): 255 calories, 5 g fat,
29 g carbohydrate, 7.5 g fiber, 7 g sugar, 26.5 g protein.

Here are all of the ingredients, just added to a bowl.

And here they are mixed. I know they may look a little "scary", but stay with me...

Here the raw ingredients are added to a loaf pan. Again, kind of creepy looking, but wait for it...

The final product. See? Yum! :)

My notes:

  • If you prefer to use 1 whole egg instead of ¼ c egg beaters you can; just be aware that making that change will alter the nutritional information provided.
  • Note that this recipe calls for plain tomato sauce – which shouldn’t be confused with pasta sauce.  If you would like to use pasta sauce that’s fine – but then omit many of the spices at the end of the recipe, or else the flavors will be too overwhelming.  No good.  :(
  • Speaking of spices, if you don’t like the ones listed here, you can omit any of them you want.
  • If you like food with a little more zing, you can replace the yellow mustard with Dijon mustard.
  • This loaf freezes very well. It can be stored in the refrigerator for 2-3 days, or in the freezer for 3-4 months. (When freezing, I wrap the loaf first in cling/plastic wrap, then in tin/aluminum foil. Then I use a permanent marker to write the name of the loaf on the foil, so that I know what the mystery item is several weeks later.)  ;)

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Quite Low
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Low
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Very Low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 4.5

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

I have made this recipe before; I call it my “travel loaf”. It’s what I make when I know I’ll be in an airport or airplane during sequential meal times, and may not have access to a very healthy or filling lunch/dinner. (If the meal in question is breakfast, I bring along my breakfast loaf.) I also make this loaf if I’m going on retreat, and won’t be served a dinner meal (as is frequently the case with the style of meditation retreat I usually attend). I like that I can make multiples of these loaves, freeze them all, and then let them defrost on their own time, and store them at room temperature for a few days if necessary. I also like that they are healthy, vegetarian, and a “complete” meal (i.e., they contain protein, starch, vegetables, and fat – I only need to add some dairy [like a glass of milk or a cup of yogurt] and a piece of fruit, and I have a solid, well-rounded meal).

As far as taste as concerned: The loaves are pretty decent. I prefer them hot to room temperature, and definitely room temperature over cold; but I’ve eaten them all three ways, and they’re “fine” at any temperature. Now, please don’t misunderstand – if I had to choose between these loaves and a freshly cooked hot meal, I would take the fresh food. But, like I said, for traveling, retreats, and any other time I need a portable, solid meal (think camping, roadtripping in rural areas, etc.), this is a good one. : )

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in "hamburger", egg beaters, loaf, postaweek2011, soy crumbles, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

