Crock Pot Roast

Ingredients:

  • 1 16-oz bag baby carrots
  • 5 baby potatoes, scrubbed then cut in half
  • 10 yellow pearl onions, peeled
  • 1 c veggie broth
  • ¼ tsp onion powder
  • ¼ tsp garlic powder
  • 2 8-oz boxes seitan

Instructions:

  • Spray a medium-sized crock pot liberally with nonstick spray.
  • Layer all of the ingredients listed above in the crock pot, except for the seitan.
  • Cook on high for 3 hours.
  • After 3 hours, add the seitan to the pot. Cook on low for an additional hour.
  • Test a carrot by piercing it with a fork. If it is tender and yields to the fork, turn the crock pot off, and enjoy the meal. If the carrot is still a bit crunchy, cook for an additional 20 minutes, then re-test. Continue cooking until the carrots are done to your liking. Then turn the crock pot off and enjoy the meal. :)
  • Season individual servings with salt and pepper as desired.

Makes 5 servings.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates): 190 calories, 2 g fat,
19 g carbohydrate, 4 g fiber, 8 g sugar, 23 g protein.

Everything loaded into the crock pot, pre-cooking.

The first serving. (From the top moving clockwise: seitan, potato, carrots, onions.)

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Quite Low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): So Low It’s Just Plain Silly
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Low hands-on time; but does require many hours of [unattended] cooking
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Very Low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 4.25

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

When I was a kid, my mom used to make this recipe every so often – with a few adjustments. She used baking potatoes instead of baby potatoes, whole white onions instead of pearl yellow onions, full-size carrots instead of baby carrots, a cow instead of seitan, and pre-packaged onion soup mix instead of broth and spices. Her recipe always turned out well; but I didn’t want to peel and chop, and I didn’t want to eat a cow, and I didn’t want to use a product that is incredibly artificial and chemically-derived… so I looked to her recipe for inspiration, then made some tweaks to make it “my own”.

And how did the adjustments turn out? Well…pretty terrific. My potatoes tasted just like my mom’s potatoes; my onions were as delish as hers were; my carrots were tender and savory just like I remember hers to be…and all without the use of packaged food.  :)

Now, this meal is kind of on the bland side; so those people who don’t have an emotional connection to this food may find it less ‘favorable’ than I do. But as the aroma of the dish filled the house, and as I slid a butter knife through the potatoes and carrots, I was transported back to my childhood home: sitting at the dinner table with my mom, dad, and sister; listening to everyone share about their day; not having any worries beyond finishing math homework or writing a book report; and filled with a sense of ease, comfort, contentment, and love.

In that sense, I rate this recipe a 10.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in carrots, crock pot, postaweek2011, potato, seitan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

