Blueberry Breakfast Loaf

Ingredients:

  • ½ c (4.5 oz) egg beaters
  • ½ c (4 oz) cottage cheese
  • heaping 1/3 c (32 g) uncooked old fashioned oatmeal (not instant)
  • 1.5 c (8 oz) blueberries, fresh or frozen (see note)
  • 2 T chopped nuts (I use pecans)
  • ¼ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp artificial sweetener (see note)

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  • Put all of the ingredients in a medium-size bowl.
    Mix well to combine evenly and thoroughly.
  • Spray a glass 9×5” loaf pan very liberally with nonstick cooking spray.
    (Be sure to spray the corners of the loaf pan extra-well.)
  • Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan.  Spread out the batter so that it is distributed evenly in the pan.
  • Bake the loaf in the center of the oven for 35-40 minutes.
  • Once the loaf is firm (i.e., it doesn’t jiggle too much when you gently shake the pan, and the loaf has pulled away from the sides of the pan a little bit), remove the pan from the oven, and let the loaf rest in the pan for 10 minutes.
  • After 10 minutes, run a knife around the edges of the pan, then gently invert the loaf onto a cooling rack.
  • Let the loaf cool at least 1 hour on the cooling rack. Two hours is even better.
    (See note.)
  • Once the loaf has cooled completely, cut in half, and eat or store. (See note.)

Makes 2 servings.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates): 255 calories, 8 g fat,
32 g carbohydrate, 5 g fiber, 14.5 g sugar, 16 g protein.

The loaf batter. Notice how loose it looks; this is fine. It will all come together when it bakes. Trust me.

The loaf batter now in the pan, before baking. Notice the big globs of cottage cheese. These will break down during the baking process - and the final loaf will not have any big cheese blobs in it, I promise. Trust me. :)

The final product.

My notes:

  • If you prefer to use 2 whole eggs instead of ½ c egg beaters you can; just be aware that making that change will alter the nutritional information provided.
  • I use 1% milkfat cottage cheese.  You can use a cottage cheese with more or less milkfat; doing so will slightly alter the nutritional information provided.
  • If using frozen blueberries, thaw the berries completely, then rinse before using.  (Rinsing the berries will help prevent them from turning the loaf batter gray.  The loaf is still completely fine to eat if the berries are not rinsed and/or if the loaf has a gray tinge to it; but the food may be less visually appealing.)
  • Other nut options I have used in the past include chopped walnuts and chopped almonds.  You can use any chopped nuts you like, or you can omit nuts completely if you don’t like them or are allergic.  Again, just be aware that removing the nuts from the recipe will alter the nutritional information provided.
  • If you prefer to use sugar instead of artificial sweetener, you can replace the 1 tsp sweetener with 2-3 tsp sugar.  Once again, just know that making this change will alter the nutritional information provided.
  • When the loaf is removed from the pan to the cooling rack, it will likely still be a little bit “loose”, and perhaps a bit liquid-y from the berries.  This is okay, don’t panic. Just let the loaf cool completely on the rack; leave it alone for an hour or two.  As the loaf cools, it will firm, and the berry juice will re-absorb into the loaf.  If you have followed the directions provided, the loaf will turn out well.  :)
  • This loaf freezes beautifully.  It can be stored in the refrigerator for 2-3 days, or in the freezer for 3-4 months. (When freezing, I wrap the loaf first in cling/plastic wrap, then in tin/aluminum foil.  Then I use a permanent marker to write the name of the loaf on the foil, so that I know what the mystery item is several weeks later.)  ;)

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Very Low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Quite Low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Uuber Low
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Low
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Super Low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 5

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

I have made this recipe before, but it is one I like so much I decided to go ahead and post it here so that I could share it with anyone who wanted it.  I call this loaf my “traveling breakfast”, because I can bring it with me on the road, on a plane, on a retreat, to school, to work…it’s durable, portable, and yet still very tasty.  Functional and fashionable – I love it!  :)

I also appreciate that this loaf is ridiculously easy to make, and that I can make many loaves all at once.  I’m really only limited by the number of mixing bowls and loaf pans I have in the house.  (Answer: I own four of each; and yes, whenever I make this recipe,
I make 4 loaves.  Always.)

Finally, I really like that I can freeze this loaf, and eat it literally months later – and it tastes just as good as when I eat it immediately after baking.  When I eat a frozen loaf,
I remove it from the freezer the night before I plan on eating it, and let it thaw on the kitchen counter.  In the morning it is fully defrosted, and I just unwrap and nosh.  Occasionally I will warm the loaf before I eat it, usually by microwaving for 20 seconds.
(A few minutes in a toaster oven would also work.)  But just as often I eat it at room temp (again, especially if I am traveling or on a retreat), and it tastes very yummy that way, too.

I make this loaf with other fruits, too – but they call for a separate recipe.  (Berries contain more liquids than most other fruits; so less ‘fluid’ fruits need a slightly different base batter.)  Perhaps I’ll post version two of the breakfast loaf recipe later this year.  :)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in blueberries, breakfast, egg beaters, loaf, muffin, postaweek2011, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blueberry Breakfast Loaf

  1. Jonathan says:

    This would work perfectly to take to school as a second break for Zeph.
    Thanks. ;)

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Definitely. And better than sponge, non? ;)

      You could even divide the loaf into 4 portions (instead of 2) to give him a more kid-sized/snack-sized portion (instead of adult-sized/meal-sized).

      One of these days I’m going to have to make my own granola bars…

      Like

  2. carlaat says:

    I gotta try this – it sounds great! And healthy!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Dinner Loaf | Savory Sundays

  4. pix & kardz says:

    your final product photo looks very convincing.
    i might just have to try this out one day (says the non-cooker)!

    Like

  5. Stef says:

    It’s pretty darn tasty. If you do decide to give it a try, I’d love to know what you think. :)

    Like

  6. jakesprinter says:

    Great Meal all the time :)

    Like

  7. Pingback: Fruit Breakfast Loaf | Savory Sundays

Leave a Reply

