Mild Frittata

Ingredients:

  • 2 c egg beaters
  • 1/3 c (2 oz) chopped fresh tomatoes (about 8 grape/cherry tomatoes)
  • Dash of chili powder
  • 15-20 fresh basil leaves, torn into very small pieces
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 6-8 twists of freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tblsp EVOO
  • 1 small shallot, finely diced
  • 3.5 oz seitan, chopped into small pieces
  • 1 c (1 oz) fresh spinach, chopped
  • ½ c (2 oz) crumbled goat cheese (aka chevre)

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  • Pour the egg beaters into a medium-sized mixing bowl. Add the tomatoes, chili powder, basil, salt, and pepper. Stir until blended.
  • Heat a 10” cast-iron skillet (or other oven-proof skillet) over medium high heat. [Safety note: From this point forward, only touch the handle of the skillet wearing oven mitts or some other hand-protection device.] Add the EVOO, and heat for 1 minute. Add the shallot and seitan, and sauté for 2 minutes. Then add the spinach, and cook until wilted (30-60 seconds).
  • Spread the shallot/seitan/spinach mixture evenly in the skillet. Then gently pour the egg mixture into the skillet. Sprinkle the goat cheese (chevre) evenly over the top. Cook for 1-2 minutes, then (using oven mitts/hand protection) move the skillet to the oven, and bake for 20 minutes, or until the frittata is puffy and golden brown.
  • Remove the skillet from the oven, and let the frittata stand for 5 minutes. Then gently run a knife around the inside edge of the skillet, and move the frittata to a plate. Cut into wedges and serve.

Makes 4-6 servings.

Nutritional information per serving for 4 servings (approximates): 165 calories, 7 g fat,
4.5 g carbohydrate, 1 g fiber, 3 g sugar, 20.5 g protein.

Nutritional information per serving for 6 servings (approximates): 110 calories, 5 g fat,
3 g carbohydrate, .5 g fiber, 2 g sugar, 13.5 g protein.

Right from the oven

The first piece

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Lowish
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Medium-low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Medium-low
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Low
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Pretty low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): A solid 4.

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

I have never made a frittata before. I have looked longingly at many frittata recipes over the years; but the one thing that always stopped me from actually making one was hardware. Namely, an oven-proof skillet. I didn’t have one. So I couldn’t make frittata.

Sad.

This weekend, though, I decided it was time to finally purchase a cast-iron skillet. So what if I only use it every-once-in-a-while, just for frittatas? A cast-iron skillet is relatively inexpensive; and who knows, I might make more items in it once I have it. I can afford it – so for goodness sakes Stef, just buy it.

So I did.

I have also never cooked with a shallot before, so I was excited for that, too. I have been told that if an onion and a bulb of garlic hooked up, their baby would be a shallot. I found the explanation to be bizarre, but true nonetheless.

So, with my new (pre-seasoned) skillet, and my new baby shallot eagerly waiting for me, I was off to make a brand new type of food. Frittata, here I come!

Overall, I was pleased with this recipe. I love the texture of this meal; the skillet gave the bottom and edges of the frittata a nice brown “crust”, crispy and a little chewy, too.
The eggs came out springy yet still tender; the “bite” of the frittata was quite lovely.
The hint of chili powder added to the eggs made a noticeable positive difference in the overall flavor profile of this dish; and I found the ratio of veg-to-egg to be very pleasing.

The one disappointing thing I did find about this dish was that, apart from the nice hint of chili powder, the overall flavor was quite bland. I could barely taste the basil and chevre; once again, basil has let me down. I am beginning to think that the best way to eat basil is raw, with tomatoes and mozzarella and oil…

But. I’m happy that I got to make frittata. And I know there are infinite egg/veg combinations I can try in making future frittatas. So I suspect before the year is over, I might try a variation on the frittata theme.

I gotta get my money’s worth from that skillet, non? ;)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in casserole, cheese, chevre, egg beaters, frittata, postaweek2011, seitan, spinach, tomatoes, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mild Frittata

  1. carlaat says:

    I love fritattas! I have a favorite Greek spinach frittata recipe with potatoes, onions, spinach, dill and feta cheese. I don’t use an oven-proof skillet – I just cut the frittata and flip it over in the frying pan for a minute or so. I’m full of lazy shortcuts like that!
    Oh, and I’m trying to remember to spell your name correctly – I’m surprised at myself because I’m generally pretty detail oriented. Sorry about that if I’ve failed to correct my errors in previous comments!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks for the comment Carla! This frittata was pretty thick; I don’t know that I would have been able to flip it in a skillet; and I also don’t know if I would have gotten such a nice crust on the bottom and sides had I not baked it. I suspect I will use the skillet more in the future, so it was worth the $15 I spent on it. ;)

      If you have a favorite frittata recipe, I’d love to see it.

      And no worries about mis-spelling my name; it happens all of the time. I do appreciate it when people spell it correctly – but I don’t get hung up on mis-spellings. :) Now you know; and I suspect you won’t make the mistake ever again. ;)

      Like

  2. It looks great Stef.
    I would have given it 10/10. :)

    What was the make of the skillet you bought?
    Would you recommend it?

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Aw, thank you. :)

      I purchased a 10″ cast iron skillet, made by a company called “Lodge”. Based on the single use so far, I think it’s good quality. But I would want to use it a few more times to ensure similar/consistent results before I feel comfortable “recommending” it. That being said, it was inexpensive enough (U.S. $15) that I think it is worth the money I paid.

      Many people I know have the same skillet (made by the same company), and they *adore* it – so I think it’s a good bet I’ll like it, too.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Take Two… | Smile, kiddo.

  4. Pingback: Lentil & Vegetable Frittata | Savory Sundays

Leave a Reply

