Baked Corn and Roasted Vegetables

Recipe #1: Baked Corn

Ingredients:

  • 2 T all-purpose flour
  • 1 c milk (I used 1%)
  • 1 T butter
  • 1 15-oz can of whole corn (drained)
  • ½ c egg beaters

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  • Generously spray a 1.5 quart loaf pan with nonstick spray. Set aside.
  • In a small bowl, dissolve the flour in 1/4 c milk. (Whisk the flour into the milk with a fork until well-blended and smooth.) Set aside.
  • In a medium-size pot, melt the butter on medium heat. Once melted, add the remaining milk to the pot, and raise the heat to medium-high to bring the milk to a light boil.
  • Once the milk begins to boil, remove the pot from the heat. Working quickly, add the flour/milk mixture, and stir until combined. Then add the drained corn and egg beaters, and stir until combined.
  • Pour the mixture into the prepared loaf pan. Bake 50-60 minutes, or until cooked through and golden brown on top.

Makes 4 servings.

Nutritional information per serving (approximates): 120 calories, 3 g fat,
16 g carbohydrate, 2.5 g fiber, 9.5 g sugar, 7 g protein.

Right out of the oven

The first piece

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Super low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Very low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Low
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Low
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Medium-low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 2.8

Recipe #2: Roasted Vegetables

Ingredients:
Any vegetables you want. For this meal, I used:
• ½ a yellow onion, cut into ½” chunks
• 10 oz baby portabella mushrooms, cleaned and quartered
• 1 large zucchini, cut into ½” rounds
• 1 large yellow squash, cut into ½” rounds
• 4 oz fresh Brussels sprouts, ends trimmed and each sprout quartered
• 2 T extra-virgin olive oil

But you can omit any vegetables you don’t like, and you can include any vegetables you do like, including: red/yellow/green bell peppers, baby tomatoes, eggplant, cauliflower, carrots, broccoli, asparagus… anything that strike your fancy.

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  • Generously spray a roasting pan (or large jelly roll pan) with nonstick spray.
    Set aside.
  • Chop all of the vegetables into evenly-sized pieces. This is the most important step of the recipe. You want all of the veggies to be as uniform in size as possible, so that they all cook evenly.
  • Place the chopped vegetables into a very large mixing bowl, and drizzle with olive oil. (Depending on how many vegetables you use, you may need more or less oil than what this recipe calls for.) Use your hands to toss the vegetables so that the oil evenly coats all of the pieces.
  • Place the coated vegetables on the sprayed pan. Bake for 20 minutes.
  • After 20 minutes, stir the vegetables around on the pan, then return them to the oven and bake for another 30 minutes.
  • Roasting is finished when the “hardest” vegetables are fork-tender.
    (In this instance, the Brussels sprouts.)
  • Optional: You can add a variety of seasonings to the vegetables once they are finished cooking. Salt and pepper are usually the only things I add (if I even add those); but you can also add grated Parmesan cheese, fresh herbs of your choosing, a splash of red-wine vinegar… again, whatever you like.

The number of servings varies depending on the amount of vegetables you made.
I usually consider 1 cup of roasted vegetables to be one serving.

Nutritional information per serving: Varies depending on the types of vegetables used.

The veggies in their raw state

THe veggies post-roasting

The veggie close-up

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): You decide. Anywhere from low to high;
it’s your preference.
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Medium-low.
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Medium
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Medium-low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 5!

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?

A few weeks ago I found a recipe for baked corn, with a declaration from the author that the dish was perfection, nearly literally manna from heaven. The picture did look lovely, and I like corn and eggs, and I’ve never had baked corn (but I know quite a few people who really enjoy it), so I thought, “Hey, why not give it a whirl?” But baked corn by itself is hardly a full meal; so I decided to make some roasted vegetables as well. Add a vegetarian protein source (in this instance, I chose a simple soy-based “tastes-like-turkey” product), some fruit, a glass of milk, and voila – dinner.

Sadly, the baked corn was disappointing – the dish was just very bland. I could taste
the corn, and I could taste some faint egg-flavor; but everything was just very
under-whelming. Bland. Sad.

By contrast, the roasted vegetables were excellent. The only “shortfall” in this dish is that I misjudged the size of my roasting pan; I would have liked to include a broader variety of vegetables than what I was able to fit in the available space. (I.e., I purchased red cabbage, cauliflower, carrots, and broccoli to include in the roasting as well; but the picture above shows that I literally had no place to put those additional ingredients; so I had to leave them out of the recipe for this go-round.) I don’t know why I don’t roast vegetables more often – it’s a super-simple process, and yields such delicious flavor… I think making this meal may have “reminded” me that I can make roasted veggies whenever I want, even on a pressed-for-time weeknight.

So while this week’s cooking venture may have been a partial let-down, it also energized me to re-visit a forgotten classic. In looking at the total picture, I will deem the plate half-full instead of half-empty. :)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in casserole, corn, postaweek2011, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baked Corn and Roasted Vegetables

  1. I love your honesty. You are always very gracious about what works and what doesn’t-How refreshing. :)

    I had a go at some roasted veg myself yesterday.
    Two great minds…

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’m a big fan of honesty. I appreciate candor in others; and I want to emulate that in my life as well. If something doesn’t work, I’m not too proud to admit it – and I want others to be able to benefit from my findings, too.

      And yes, great minds do think alike! :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

