Mexican Egg Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 c egg beaters
  • 1 c salsa
  • 1 c fat-free vegetarian refried pinto beans
  • 1 ¼ c shredded low fat yellow cheese (cheddar, colby-jack, or a Mexican blend)

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Spray a muffin tin (or mini muffin tin) with nonstick spray.
  • In a very large bowl, mix all of the ingredients together. Mix well; be sure to break up the beans evenly throughout the rest of the batter.
  • Divide the mixture among the muffin cups. (If making regular size muffins, put 1/4 c mixture into each muffin well. If making mini muffins, fill each muffin well nearly to the top. [I.e., fill each well as far as you can without having any batter slosh out as you carefully move the pan to the oven.]
  • Bake regular size muffins for 35-40 minutes; bake mini muffins 20-22 min.
  • Once you remove the muffins from the oven, let them stand in the tin for 10 minutes (regular size muffins) or 5 minutes (mini muffins) to firm up.
  • Run a butter knife around the edge of each muffin to loosen, then remove the muffins from the tin. Eat the muffins immediately. (Or, you can place the muffins on a cooling rack until they come to room temperature, then package the muffins in a sealed container and place in the refrigerator. Be sure to heat leftover muffins before eating.)
  • Serve muffins with salt & pepper to taste.

Makes 18 regular size muffins, or 42 mini muffins.

Nutritional information per 1 regular size muffin (approximates): 50 calories, 1.5 g fat, 4 g carbohydrate, 1 g fiber, 1.5 g sugar, 5 g protein.

Nutritional information per 1 mini muffin (approximates): 20 calories, 0.5 g fat, 2 g carbohydrate, 0.5 g fiber, 0.5 g sugar, 2.3 g protein.

When the muffins first came out of the oven, they looked beautiful.

Sadly, they quickly caved in.

One big muffin, one mini muffin. They look good; unfortunately they don't taste it.

My notes:

  • When choosing a mixing bowl for the batter, pick the largest bowl you have in your kitchen. Seriously. I needed a lot of room to get everything evenly mixed.
  • I used a heavy plastic spoonula to mix the batter; it allowed me to smoosh the beans into the eggs and salsa, which seemed to help break the beans apart and integrate them into the rest of the batter.
  • The muffins puffed up beautifully in the oven; but then sank pretty dramatically within a minute after coming out.

The ratings:
Mental Cost (ingredient availability): Super-low
Financial Cost (ingredient cost): Low
Emotional Cost (cooking skill level): Ultra-Low
Time Cost (recipe preparation): Low
Life Cost (clean up time/effort): Low
Worth It? (rate from 1-5): 0.5

The Bottom Line: Will I make this recipe again?
I wanted this recipe to be good. I really did. I mean, four cheap ingredients? And assembly that a small child could do on their own? (Minus the oven work, of course.) This recipe is cheap, easy, and fast-to-make…. Can’t it be good, too?

Apparently not. There is just something “off” about these muffins. Their texture is mushy, and their taste is funky; and while I’m usually very eloquent, I just can’t put my finger on what is so wrong with these muffins, except to say that they are just “off”. Now, I will say that the mini muffins turned out better than their full-size brethren; so *if* I were to make this recipe again, I would make only mini muffins.

But honestly, I’m not even going to finish the muffins I made. I hate to waste food (and I do my best to not use the word “hate” unless no other term will suffice); but after eating two servings of these muffins, I am willing to pitch the rest to trash can. *sigh*

Oh well, at least I now know that this idea isn’t a good one – and learning occurs more through failure than through success, anyway.  And, there’s always next week. :)

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in cheese, egg beaters, mexican, muffin, postaweek2011, refried beans, salsa, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mexican Egg Muffins

  1. Hi,
    Your approach to cooking is the same as mine LOL :) Loved the pictures and the comments -they made me laugh out loud. This has happened to me so many times!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Cabbage Roll Casserole/Soup | Savory Sundays

Leave a Reply

